Tags

, , ,

To all my fans, (let’s be honest, I know there are thousands of you checking this daily for an update), apologies for the lack of posting in the past month.  School tends to morph my life into a black hole…causing me to lose sleep, lose my keys at least once a day, lose all touch with reality, bike farther than necessary, annnd get behind on posting.  Nevertheless, just a few of the things that have taken place over the last month along with, of course, an overarching realization: it’s mutual.  And if it’s not, it should be.

What exactly do I mean by ‘it’s mutual”? Well, to give the most vague, unhelpful answer ever – everything you do!  Ok, for some examples and clarification.

Helping others is a good thing, right? Well, I think that a lot of times, people understand this and use it as justification for not completely enjoying volunteer work.  Volunteering can lead to long hours and exhausting days, especially if the nature of the work is not something you find enjoyable.  But, I wanted to make the point that volunteering and giving back can be mutually beneficial.  You can be helping some person or some cause, but at the same time that cause can be helping you.

In case you haven’t heard, I’m a fan of cycling, and will do just about anything to get a long ride in.  That being said, I have found a whole new community of ‘biking for a cause’ – such as the Bike MS events.  In early October, I completed the Bike MS Louisiana by riding 150 miles from Hammond, La., to McComb, Ms. and back.

Lauren and I at the Bike MS 150 after day 1.

Taylor and I – done with 150 miles on day 2!

Just two weeks ago, I rode 60 miles in St. Francisville for Baton Rouge Bike Club’s fundraiser for the American Cancer Society.  This weekend, I’m headed to Lafayette to ride 65 miles for St. Judes’s in the Annual Pumpkin Ride.  These are the ways of giving back you should seek out! Then, you can truly incorporate service into your daily life and it never feels like a burden.  Make it mutual.

The second major thing I’ve been going through is the job search process.  Let’s just say that looking for a job is, in itself, a full-time job.  And if it’s not, it should be! Throughout the interviews, I learned just how much finding a company to work for and a position to work in must be a two-way street.  I know that for myself, and a lot of other college students, it is easy to get the notion that interviewing is one-way.  We get to thinking that it’s all about them picking us.  Well, it is…kind of.  We cannot forget that it’s about us picking them, too.  Be inquisitive in your interview, talk to people in the position you are applying for, visit the work site, etc.  You’re important, and you’ve worked hard to get where you are.  If you’re not looking for a job that’s mutual, you might be selling yourself and your talents short.  Make sure it’s mutual. 

Lastly, there’s been time for fun these past couple weeks – well, keep in mind I consider biking and looking for jobs fun haha – but, for fun in the traditional sense, there’s been everything from birthday parties to  football games.

Celebrating 90 years for Mrs. Wilma!

Unlimited satsumas at the Graham household. I’m a fan!

Started a new job – LSU Tour Guide. Come take a tour and see why I’m in love with my school.

 

Geaux Tigers__________

Don’t let anyone look down on you because you are young, but set an examplefor the believers in speech, in conduct, in love, in faith and in purity. 1 Timothy 4:12

